TDEM Announces 15 Counties Added To Federal Disaster Declaration For Severe Weather

Texas State Flag
For Immediate Distribution
July 2, 2024

Texas Division of Emergency Management Announces 15 Counties Added To Federal Disaster Declaration For Severe Weather

AUSTIN - The Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) announced today that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved fifteen additional Texas counties for the Federal Disaster Declaration for severe weather and flooding that began on April 26. With this federal approval of 15 new counties for Public Assistance programs, qualifying entities in 63 total counties are now eligible to apply for various forms of federal disaster assistance.

"At the direction of Governor Abbott, TDEM requested that FEMA add these and other counties to the Federal Disaster Declaration to help ensure communities impacted by severe weather have the financial assistance they need to rebuild and recover,” said Texas Emergency Management Chief Nim Kidd. "I thank FEMA for working alongside Texas emergency management officials to provide all necessary resources and support to our state following the severe weather our communities endured this spring. The Texas Division of Emergency Management will continue to work alongside local emergency management officials to ensure our communities and fellow Texans receive the support they need throughout the long-term recovery process."

FEMA approved its Public Assistance program for public infrastructure repairs and emergency work for 10 additional counties, including: Anderson, Baylor, Cochran, Delta, Milam, Rockwall, Rusk, Henderson, Kaufman, and Van Zandt counties. FEMA’s Public Assistance program may cover jurisdictional expenses for debris removal, emergency protective measures, roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities, parks, recreational, and other facilities.

Additionally, FEMA approved its Public Assistance program (limited to emergency protective measures and direct federal assistance) for 5 additional counties, including: Ellis, Guadalupe, Smith, Hays, and Hill counties.

Qualifying entities in the following counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance program: Anderson, Austin, Baylor, Bell, Bosque, Brown, Caldwell, Calhoun, Clay, Cochran, Coleman, Concho, Coke, Cooke, Coryell, Delta,  Eastland, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Grimes, Hamilton, Hardin, Harris, Henderson, Hockley, Houston, Jasper, Kaufman, Lamar, Lampasas, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Lynn, Madison, Milam, Mills, Montgomery, Newton, Panola, Polk, Robertson, Rockwall, Rusk, San Augustine, San Jacinto, San Saba, Shelby, Sterling, Terrell, Trinity, Tyler, Van Zandt, Walker, Waller, and Washington counties. The State’s request for Public Assistance for 26 additional Texas counties is still pending review by FEMA.

To date, FEMA has approved its Individual Assistance program for 35 counties. Qualifying Texans in the following counties are eligible to apply: Austin, Bell, Calhoun, Collin, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Falls, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Henderson, Hockley, Jasper, Jones, Kaufman, Lamar, Leon, Liberty, Montague, Montgomery, Navarro, Newton, Polk, San Jacinto, Smith, Terrell, Trinity, Tyler, Van Zandt, Walker, and Waller counties. Texans can apply for FEMA disaster assistance online at or by calling 800-621-3362.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance program provides funding for expenses such as temporary housing, emergency home repairs, uninsured and underinsured personal property losses, disaster legal services, disaster unemployment assistance, and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster. The Governor’s request for Individual Assistance for Anderson, Bosque, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk and Sabine counties remains under review by FEMA.